The 8th Irish Research Council Meeting with Minister Sean Sherlock

Back Row (left to right): Professor James Gleeson, Professor Rowena Pecchenino, Dr. Ivan Coulter, Professor Alan Smeaton, Professor John Brewer, Professor Sean Ryder, Professor Sheila Green, Dr. Thomas M. Cooney

Front Row (left to right): Professor Caroline Fennell, Professor Orla Feely (Chair), Minister Sean Sherlock, Dr. Eucharia Meehan (Director), Professor Anita R. Maguire

The 8th Irish Research Council Meeting took place today, 29th January 2013, in the Royal Irish Academy.  Mr. Sean Sherlock T.D., Minister for Research & Innovation, was also in attendance. Minister Sherlock said that 'this year the Council is going to have a very important role to play in shaping the development of the research system'.