Irish researchers chosen to attend Masterclasses with 66 Nobel Laureates: Researchers' Lindau blogs now available!

Access blogs by Mariana Bexiga & Roman Stilling!

The Irish Research Council has recognised excellence in the natural sciences at a special event in the RDS and honoured six exceptional early stage career researchers under the age of 35 who will, later this month, travel to Lindau, Germany, to participate in the prestigious Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting.

The researchers won through a fierce global competition to earn places at the event and they will join over 650 scientists from across the world to engage in a week-long series of lectures, discussions and masterclasses in the presence of 66 Nobel Laureates.  The six researchers are drawn from UCD, Trinity College, NUI Galway, UCC and the University of Limerick. The attendance of the researchers at the event, is being funded by the Irish Research Council.

Each of the researchers was today presented with a specially commissioned award, marking their achievement and the fact that they are representing Ireland, by Philip Walton. Philip, an Emeritus Professor of Applied Physics (NUI Galway), is the son of the late Ernest Walton the celebrated Irish scientist who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1951. That same year, the Nobel Foundation held the first Lindau meeting for Nobel Laureates. The 20th anniversary of Ernest Walton’s death will fall later this month.

Minister of State for Skills, Research and Innovation, Damien English TD, commented: ‘I am delighted to see these researchers- now Lindau Fellows – honoured today in advance of their participation in what promises to be a hugely beneficial and stimulating experience for them.  The nominees have progressed through both a national and incredibly competitive international selection process and have demonstrated the highest standards of scholarship in their respective fields. I am proud that we will have such excellent ambassadors for the Irish research and scientific community at this prestigious global event. The insights gained during the week in Lindau can only assist the awardees in furthering their contribution to their field, as well as the economy and society’

According to Dr. Eucharia Meehan, Director of the Irish Research Council, ‘our Lindau Fellow awards recognise the importance of supporting the development of research careers, particularly at the earlier stages. This is central to the mission of the Irish Research Council and the awards are one of a range of initiatives and measures designed to provide a pipeline of excellent Irish researchers across all disciplines. During their time in Lindau, the awardees will benefit from the knowledge of leading scientists whilst also having opportunities to network and explore collaborations with their peers from across the globe. This experience will support the Irish participant’s progress to the next phase of their research careers.’

Laureates (Click below to access researcher blogs):

Thomas Higgins

Owen Byrne

Mariana Bexiga: Blog Available Here

Jessica Hayes

Roman Stilling: Blog Available Here

Shalini Singh

Additional information

The Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting is an annual event in which up-and-coming scientists around the world come together with Nobel Laureates, each of whom has made ground-breaking scientific discoveries and contributions to our knowledge. Lindau is an island on Lake Constance, in Bavaria, Germany. The meeting takes place between 28 June - 3 July 2015. 

At the Lindau Meeting in 2015 a record number of 66 Nobel Laureates will congregate to meet the next generation of leading scientists and researchers. The 65th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting will be attended by more than 650 excellent students, PhD candidates, and post-docs from all three natural science Nobel Prize disciplines. The programme of this interdisciplinary Lindau Meeting will feature a multitude of lectures, panel discussions, and master classes.

The patron of the Irish Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting Award is the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins.


Discipline/ Research Area


Research Area

Thomas Higgins



Electrochemical applications of nanomaterial composites

Owen Byrne

Physical Chemistry


Solar cell characterisation

Mariana Bexiga

Molecular Biology,


Cationic nanoparticles

Jessica Hayes



Researcher in fracture healing, osteogenesis.

Roman Stilling



Mechanisms of microbiota–gut–brain gene regulation and behaviour

Shalini Singh



Synthesis & Assembly of Binary, Ternary & Quaternary Semiconductor Nanocrystals.